Current News

Current News

Whitley, Marshall County Towns Named Finalists in Stellar Communities Designation Search

Friday, June 16, 2017

Lt. Governor Suzanne Crouch announced the six finalists for the 2017 Stellar Communities Designation Program and two of them are in Northern Indiana.

Ultimately there will be two winners, with one winner coming from each Division (which is based on population). Churubusco in Whitley County and Culver in Marshall County have both been named Division 2 finalists. Since they are in the same division, unfortunately only one of them can be named to the program. Even as finalists though, each community is awarded a planning grant to be used to build or further refine and expand on their local Strategic Investment Plan (SIP).

The Stellar Communities program, launched in 2011, operates under the Indiana Office of Community and Rural Affairs (OCRA) and is a partnership of various state agencies to work together in assisting designated towns and cities achieve “transformative quality of place community improvements” via:

  • Utilizing previous planning efforts
  • Leveraging existing assets
  • Fostering regional investments
  • Stimulating continued growth for long-term relevance

“I congratulate this year’s six finalists for taking the fundamental first steps or in some cases, after reevaluating previous efforts, heeding advice to identify quality of place projects in line with their local visions for the future,” said Crouch. “We look forward to receiving the strategic investment plans from each of the finalist communities to see what state and local collaborations might be possible to take our hometowns to the next level.”

The full list of 2017 finalists include:

Division 1 (6,000-50,000 residents):

  • City of Greensburg in Decatur County
  • City of Madison in Jefferson County
  • City of Vincennes in Knox County

Division 2 (fewer than 6,000 residents):

  • Town of Churubusco in Whitley County
  • Town of Culver in Marshall County
  • City of Union City in Randolph County

Workshops are offered to the communities in June, with their SIP’s due in late August. The winners will be announced in October.

Stellar Communities Designation Program

Indiana Office of Community and Rural Affairs