Current News

Current News

Positively Glowing: NIPSCO’s 2017 Luminary Awards

Monday, October 23, 2017

NIPSCO’s 6th annual Luminary Awards presentation was held in late September to recognize leaders across northern Indiana.

Created in 2012 as part of a celebration of the utility company’s 100-year anniversary, the Luminary Awards honor leaders and organizations for their outstanding commitment to strengthening local communities. The awards recognize leaders in five categories, and along with the honor NIPSCO makes a $1,000 donation to each award winner’s selected charity. The awards were presented at a reception held at NIPSCO’s Merrillville headquarters.

The 2017 Luminary Award winners are:

  • Community Leadership: Senator Earline Rogers and Senator Jim Arnold
  • Education: Geof Benson of the Dunes Learning Center
  • Public Safety: the Northwest Indiana Information Security Sharing Alliance (NIISSA)
  • Environmental Stewardship: ACRES Land Trust
  • Economic Development: Bill Hanna of the Regional Development Authority (RDA)

Congratulations to all of this year’s winners, and keep up the good work!

Kathleen Szot, NISCPO Public Affairs